WGXC-90.7 FM

Molinaro, Stefanik vote with failed Mayorkas impeachment effort

Feb 07, 2024 12:34 pm

On Feb. 6, the Hudson Valley representatives in Congress split their votes to impeach Alejandro Nicholas Mayorkas, the Secretary of Homeland Security. The vote failed 214-to-216, with local Republicans Marc Molinaro and Elise Stefanik voting to impeach, and Democrats Paul Tonko and Pat Ryan voting against. Three Republicans, Colorado Rep. Ken Buck, Wisconsin Rep. Mike Gallagher, and California Rep. Tom McClintock, joined the Democrats to block the resolution. The high crimes and misdemeanors Mayorkas is accused of are unclear, though Republicans are clearly unhappy with the current immigration situation. They had a deal for immigration legislation, but scuttled it earlier this week because former President Donald Trump wants to campaign on the immigration issue.