WGXC-90.7 FM

Four resign from Chatham Zoning Board

Dec 06, 2016 12:04 am

Emilia Teasdale is reporting in The Columbia Paper four members of the Chatham Zoning Board of Appeals have resigned, leaving only two members left on the seven-person board. ZBA members Jeffrey Lick, Robert Leary, Mitchell Khosrova and JP Henkel have now submitted letters of resignation to the Chatham Town Board. As a cost-savings measure, the Town Board cut the salaries for ZBA and Planning Board members in the 2017 budget. Each member of those two boards currently receives $2,655 a year. The 2017 budget reduced that compensation to $75 per meeting, for a total of $900 a year for members, based on 12 meetings per year. The 2017 budget allocates funds for only six ZBA members, instead of the current seven. The Town Board intends to eventually reduce the size of the ZBA to five members. The Planning Board will remain a seven-member board. The Town Board also changed the status of the town historian position from paid to volunteer. Town Board member Henry Swartz said the current town historian would not be returning as a volunteer because the board made the change without consulting her. “She was highly insulted,” Swartz said. The town will advertise the open positions on both the ZBA and Planning Board, and also seek candidates for a volunteer town historian. Read the full story in The Columbia Paper.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534