WGXC-90.7 FM

Molinaro, Stefanik vote to impeach Mayorkas

Feb 14, 2024 12:34 am

On Feb. 13, the Hudson Valley representatives in Congress split their votes to impeach Alejandro Nicholas Mayorkas, the Secretary of Homeland Security. On the Republicans second attempt (the first last week failed 214-to-216), local Republicans Marc Molinaro and Elise Stefanik voted to impeach, and Democrats Paul Tonko and Pat Ryan voting against. This time the impeachment passed, 214-to-213. The high crimes and misdemeanors Mayorkas is accused of are unclear, though Republicans are clearly unhappy with the current immigration situation. They had a deal for immigration legislation, but scuttled it last week because former President Donald Trump wants to campaign on the immigration issue.