WGXC-90.7 FM

Molinaro, Stefanik vote with other Republicans for new House Speaker

Oct 26, 2023 1:03 am

Republicans in the House of Representatives on Oct. 25 finally elected a new Speaker of the House, after failing several times to agree on a leader. Louisiana-based Rep. Mike Johnson was elected 220-to-209, with local Reps. Marc Molinaro and Elise Stefanik voting with the other Republicans. Stefanik even introduced Johnson, though she did the same with past nominees who failed, such as Rep. Jim Jordan. Click here to download or play a short excerpt of Stefanik's speech. Stefanik backed the party's nominee in each of the previous Speaker votes, whil Molinaro voted two times for Rep. Jim Jordan, an ultra-conservative member who worked to undermine the legal and fair results of the 2020 presidential election. Then Molinaro said he was backing the speaker pro tempore, Rep. Patrick T. McHenry, but instead voted for Republican Lee Zeldin, who is not in Congress and lost New York's governor election last year. Johnson, the nominee the Republicans finally agreed on, also voted against certifying the 2020 presidential election results which were free and fair.