WGXC-90.7 FM

Budgets all pass in Columbia County school votes

May 17, 2023 1:01 pm

Raymond Pignone reports in Columbia-Greene Media the results of the Columbia County school elections May 16, where all budgets and propositions passed. In the Germantown vote for school board members, David Rifenburgh got 211 votes and Teresa Repko received 167 to win seats, with Cheryl Del Pozzo Kaszluga finishing third with 71 votes. In Hudson, Kjirsten Gustavson received 266 votes and Calvin Lewis got 251 for two seats, with 44 other write-in votes. In New Lebanon, officials did not release vote totals, but claimed Sharon Powers and Kyle Kuffel won three-year terms, while Thom Rigg got a two-year term. In Taconic Hills voting, Richard Viebrock, with 378 votes, and Ronald Morales, with 329 votes, won five-year terms, while Margaret Hallisey received 290 votes for a three-year term, and Joshua Loeffler lost with 136 votes. In Chatham, Dawn Friedman, with 357 votes, Marianne Pierro, with 352 votes, and Matthew Fisch, with 332 votes, all won three-year terms. At Ichabod Crane schools, three seats went to Kelly Firmbach, with 752 votes, Megan Pelizza with 567 votes, and Christopher Scoville with 537, while Melissa Miller, with 524 votes, and John Chandler, with 503 votes, finished behind. Read more about this story at HudsonValley360.com.