WGXC-90.7 FM

Village election results

Mar 20, 2024 12:55 am

Porcupine Soup reports that Democrats prevailed in village elections in Athens, Catskill, and Coxsackie on March 19, according to unofficial results from Greene County Board of Elections. Republicans won in Tannersville, and the villlages of Hunter and Chatham had not posted results as of March 20. In Athens, incumbent Democrat Gail A. Lasher got 238, followed by Democrat Joey J. Dillberg with 227, to take the two seats available. Republican Jessica L. Vermilyea received 89 votes. In Catskill, Democratic newcomers Daniel R. Ward got 446 votes and Jeffrey E. Workman, Jr. received 407 to take the two seats available. They beat incumbent Republicans Jeffrey C. Holliday, with 353 votes, and Peter J. Grasse, who also serves as village president, who got got 370 votes. In Coxsackie, Incumbent Democrat Katlyn E. Irwin was the top vote getter with 309, followed by Democrat Deidre M. Meier with 297, to win two seats. Republicans Stefanie A. Sitcer and Cesar O. Echavarria got 266 and 259 votes, respectively. In Tannersville incumbent Gregory P. Thorpe, who ran on both the Democratic and Republican lines, received 67 votes and Republican George J. Kelly got 57 votes, while Democrat Andrew Tepper received 17 votes.