WGXC-90.7 FM

More school district candidates announced...

Apr 19, 2011 3:38 pm
All but three of the WGXC listening area's school districts have announced candidates for the upcoming May 17 budget votes and elections. Those who haven't returned their ballot choices are either on Spring Vacation at present, or haven't closed their petition process yet. Hudson, being a small city, has until April 27 to close that part of the process.

Ichabod Crane School District will see four candidates vying for three three-year seats. Incumbent board president Andrew Kramarchyk and incumbent John Chandler will be facing newcomers Cheryl Francouer Trefzger and Susan Ramos. Current board vice president John Phillips will not be running for another term.

In New Lebanon School District, there will be one candidate, newcomer Christine Sotek, for two seats left open by current board members Tim Smith and Tim Lambert, who decided to not run for another term. The district is hoping another candidate arises as a write-in candidate.

In Taconic Hills School District, there are five candidates for two seats, each with a five year term. Incumbents board vice president George Lagonia, Jr. and incumbent board member Christine Perry will be faced by Justin Kutski, Arnold T. Anderson and Steve H. Argus.

In Greenville, incumbents Greg Lampman and Roseanne Stapleton will be seeking another three year term with no opposition. Similarly, in the Windham-Ashland-Jewett School District, incumbent Teri Martin wekk be seeking for fourth five year term as a board member, unopposed.

Both Chatham Central Schools and Hunter-Tannersville Central School were on vacation this week, with their offices closed.

Eslewhere, it was earlier reported that in the Catskill School District, there will be four candidates for three Board of Ed seats carrying three-years terms including two-term incumbent Karen Haas and newcomers Michael Maloney, William C. Fiske and Ward Osborn. Current board members Andrew Jones and Matthew Leibowitz are not seeking re-election. In Germantown, four people will vie for two seats including incumbents Donald Coons and Cynthia Smith, plus newcomers Brittany Bohnsack-Dufresne and Ronald Moore II. In the Cairo-Durham School District, three incumbents and one challenger are jockeying for three, three-year seats, with incumbents Susan Kusminsky, William Alfeld and Patricia Prapolsky Ublacker seeking re-election, and challenger Elizabeth Phillips seeking to unseat an incumbent. Each of the incumbents in Coxsackie-Athens faces a challenger for his or her seat. Incumbent Joseph Garland is being challenged by Richard Jewett, incumbent Joseph Cardinale is facing Carol Ann Luccio, and incumbent Michael Petramale will face off against Bonnie Ecker.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534