WGXC-90.7 FM

School budgets pass in Columbia, Greene counties

Jun 18, 2020 6:00 am
The school districts in Columbia and Greene counties have now reported out the results of the June 9 budget votes and school board elections. The proposed spending plans were approved in all 12 districts. All voters cast absentee ballots this year because of the coronavirus pandemic. In many districts voting by mail increased voter participation because the absentee paper ballots appeared to make it easier for people to vote. The Columbia Paper is reporting voters in the Chatham school district approved the budget on a vote of 1,205 to 565; approved proposition 2, to reduce the number of board seats from 9 to 7; and elected Patricia Wilson, Destiny Hallenbeck and Matthew Fisch to fill three open boar seats. Germantown school district voters gave the proposed 2020-21 spending plan the green light, 779 to 48; and Ralph DelPozzo and Allison Meed took the two available board seats. In the Hudson City School District, its $50 million budget passed 1,267 to 748; voters likewise approve proposition 2 to create a capital reserve. Incumbent board members Sage Carter and Carrie Otty were re-elected unchallenged. In New Lebanon, the proposed budget was approved on a vote of 286 to 77. Registered voters in the Ichabod Crane Central School District approved its $42.38 million 2020-21 spending plan by a vote of 2,015 to 1,246. Voters also approved the purchase of five new school buses and elected Elaine Berlin, John Chandler and Kelly Firmbach to three-year terms on the board. In the Taconic Hills Central School District, voters approved a $38.11 million spending plan for the coming year by a vote of 1,589 to 660. Voters also approved the purchase of new school buses and elected Heidi Beneke Main to a five-year term on the board of education. In Greene County, voters in the Cairo-Durham school district approved a $32.51 million budget for the 2020-21 school year, on a vote of 1,067 to 805. Voters also gave a thumbs up to a bus purchase proposition, the Cairo Public Library appropriation, and to donating the former Durham Elementary School building to Questar III BOCES. Incumbent board members Stephen Brandow and Bernadette Gavin-Palmieri were re-elected and Claudia Zucker will replace David Infantino. In Catskill, district voters approved the 2020-21spending plan on a vote of 1,116 to 669. Zebulun Haggerty, Deborah Johnson and Ryan Osswald were chosen by the voters to serve three year terms. Registered voters in the Coxsackie-Athens Central School District approved a $33.21 million budget by a 70 percent margin, 1,164 to 669. Tara Bachner, Jamie Dorr and Ina Griffin-Guilzon were elected to the board of education. The 2020-21 spending plan for the Greenville school district was approved by voters, 1,313 to 675. Eric Herbstritt and Duncan Macpherson were elected to serve on the school board. Officials in the Hunter-Tannersville Central School District counted ballots on Facebook live, without narration, for the better part of 90 minutes, January 16, before announcing the results. When the count was concluded, the budget had passed on a vote of 316 to 104; proposition 2 permitting the purchase of buses and other vehicles was approved and John Aizstrauts was re-elected to the board of education, defeating various write-in candidates. And in the Windham-Ashland-Jewett district, the budget passed 418 to 150 and Drew Shuster was elected to a five-year term on the school board.