WGXC-90.7 FM

Three members of Durham Historic Preservation Commission resign

Mar 10, 2022 1:55 pm

Andrea Macko reports at Porcupine Soup that after the town board removed the chair of the Durham Historic Preservation Commission, three members of the group have resigned. Ellen Fried, Rosemary O’Brien, and Ken Mabey resigned March 4. That came after the town board did not reappoint Patrick Ciccone, the chair of the Town of Durham Historic Preservation Committee, after he wrote an affidavit against the town board in a lawsuit about a proposed housing development in the town. "We believe contempt for the commission was fully exposed when its chairperson, a professional historic preservationist with seven years on the commission, was dismissed without warning or explanation of any kind; and without even some minimal communication with the five remaining members of the commission, either before, or since the dismissal took place,” the three members of the commission wrote in their resignation letter. At the March 1 town board meeting, Durham Town Supervisor Shawn Marriott said, “It is a personnel issue, yes I can confirm Patrick was not reappointed.... But we do not discuss personnel matters… There are many things I would love to say, but cannot, so we will leave it at that.” Many Durham residents have spoken out against the Bosque Subdivision, a proposal to put 12 homes on 95 acres in Cornwallville. Read more about this story at Porcupine Soup.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534