Daniel Steffey

Daniel Steffey is a composer and percussionist based in Oakland, California. About Steffey's most recent electronic works release, Chloros (Edgetone Records,) Foxy Digitalis said, "It is as abrasive as it is meditative, and bold as it is voyeuristic. He has surprisingly found new meanings within noise." Steffey was recently commissioned by the Fifth Wall Gallery in Las Vegas, Nevada to contribute a solo exhibition for their inaugural opening; his sound installation, Sonic Trichromacy, was named one of the top ten local art exhibits of 2011 by the Las Vegas Weekly. Steffey is an active member of the William Winant Percussion Group where he has played the US premieres of works by Peter Garland and Christian Wolff respectively, and worked with several other composers and performers such as The San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Petr Kotik, Thomas Buckner, the Eclipse String Quartet, Bob Ostertag, David Abel, and Julia Wolfe. He received his MA in Music Composition from Mills College where he studied composition and music theory with Roscoe Mitchell and David Bernstein, and percussion with William Winant. Steffey's BA is in Music Performance from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas where he studied percussion with Tim Jones and Dean Gronemeier.
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534