WGXC-90.7 FM

Disaster aid to local farmers for recent drought

Dec 23, 2010 9:06 am
The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Columbia, Dutchess and Greene counties as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by a drought that began June 13 and continues. The Daily Freeman reports today that farmers in all three counties, plus contiguous Ulster County,are also eligible for assistance for losses caused by frost, freezing, high winds, hail, excessive snow, excessive rain and cold temperatures that occurred from Feb. 15 to May 12. The designations make qualified farm operators in the designated areas potentially eligible for low-interest emergency loans. Farmers have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. Additional information is available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.