WGXC-90.7 FM

Greene and Columbia in Capital Region Council

Jul 29, 2011 1:06 am
Governor Andrew Cuomo launched his Capital Region Regional Economic Development Councils Thu., July 28, setting up regional development groups. Greene and Columbia counties are included in the Capital Region Regional Council, led by Shirley Ann Jackson, President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and Michael Castellana, President and CEO of SEFCU, who will serve as Regional Co-Chairs over Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren and Washington counties. Donald E. Gibson, President, CEO & Director, The Bank of Greene County is included on the council, as are spots for the Chairman of Greene County Legislature, which is currently Wayne Speenburgh (R-Coxsackie), and Chairman Columbia Board of Supervisors, which is currently Roy Brown (R-Germantown). "New York can no longer afford one-size-fits-all economic development plans that ignore the unique assets and challenges of the state's many diverse regions," Governor Cuomo said in a press release. "Today, we are taking a groundbreaking approach that will send a clear message that New York is open for business. With the Regional Councils, we will empower individual areas like Capital Region to chart their own course for economic growth, bringing jobs and investment to New York." Dutchess and Ulster counties are included in the Mid-Hudson version of the council, while Delaware County is in the Southern Tier.

Capital Region Regional Council Members
Regional Co-Chairs
Michael J. Castellana, President and CEO, SEFCU
Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

General Members
Joseph F. Raccuia, President & CEO, Finch Paper LLC
Gary Dake, President, Stewart's Shops
Bill Hart, Controller, Irving Tissue Inc.
Victor R. Abate, Vice President, Renewable Energy, General Electric
Peg A. Murphy, Corporate Secretary/Director of Human Resources, Espey Manufacturing &
Electronics Corporation
Omar Usmani, Executive Partner, Aeon Nexus Corporation
Ann C. Moynihan, President, Documentation Strategies Inc.
Linda Davis Pedlar, Owner, LDP Consulting Group, Inc.
Christine Edgerly, President, Adirondack Mechanical Services LLC
Jeff Stark, President, Greater Capital Region Building Trades Council
George M. Phillip, President, University at Albany
Karen Bilowith, President & CEO, The Community Foundation for the Greater Capital Region
James J. Barba, President & CEO, Albany Medical Center
Todd Erling, Executive Director, Hudson Valley Agribusiness Development Corporation
F. Michael Tucker, President & CEO, Center for Economic Growth
Dennis Brobston, President, Saratoga Economic Development Corporation
Linda Hillman, President, Rensselaer County Regional Chamber of Commerce
Donald E. Gibson, President, CEO & Director, The Bank of Greene County

Elected Officials
Albany County Executive
Chairman of Schenectady County Legislature
Rensselaer County Executive
Chairman Saratoga Board of Supervisors
Chairman Warren Board of Supervisors
Chairman Columbia Board of Supervisors
Chairman of Greene County Legislature
Chairman Washington Board of Supervisors
Mayor of the City of Albany
Mayor of the City of Schenectady
Mayor of the City of Troy

Elected officials will serve in an ex-officio basis and will participate in discussions and the planning process. In regions composed of more than two counties (except for the New York City region), members will include:

· the chief executive or supervisor of each county; and
· the chief executive or supervisor of the three municipalities with the largest population (limited to one municipal representative per county)

10 Regional Economic Development Councils

· Capital Region (Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, Washington)
· Central New York (Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego)
· Finger Lakes (Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates)
· Long Island (Nassau, Suffolk)
· Mid-Hudson (Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester)
· Mohawk Valley (Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Schoharie)
· New York City (Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond)
· North Country (Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence,)
· Southern Tier (Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins)
· Western New York (Alleghany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara)
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534