WGXC-90.7 FM

Republicans, Conservatives take control in Coeymans

Jan 02, 2020 1:00 pm
Kate Lisa is reporting for Capital Region Independent Media in the town of Coeymans three men were sworn in at town hall, January 1, marking a new era for the town with a board comprised of three Republicans and two Conservatives. Republican Assemblymember Chris Tague, of Schoharie, attended the ceremony and congratulated the board, calling the moment a new beginning for the town. In November, Conservative Zachary Collins and Republican Brandon LeFevre were each elected to serve four-year terms as councilmen; and, Conservative George McHugh was elected to a two-year term as town supervisor. The terms of incumbent Republicans Daniel Baker and Kenneth Burns continue through 2021. The newly constituted board took immediate action: voting unanimously to dissolve the five-member Coeymans Conservation Advisory Council, and proposing a law to dissolve the town planning board, transferring its responsibilities to the Zoning Board of Appeals. The proposed board would have seven members. The members of the conservation council and planning board were notified last month that their positions were being eliminated. McHugh said he chose to disband the conservation council because he did not see a reason for it to exist. The board also approved a five-year Payment in Lieu of Taxes agreement for landlord Coeymans Recycling Center for incoming business Composite Technology and Infrastructure. The business is slated to open in February. The Coeymans board has scheduled a joint workshop meeting to discuss shared services with the Ravena Village Board of Trustees on January 13. Read the full story in the Ravena News-Herald.