WGXC-90.7 FM

Greene County legislators not offering gas tax break for consumers

Jun 02, 2022 2:03 pm

Liz Montgomery reports for Porcupine Soup that the Republicans in control of the Greene County Legislature are not giving consumers back their share of the gasoline tax like the state of New York and other counties such as Dutchess County. “Asking counties to give up the revenue they need to better the lives of residents so the State can take credit for short term savings at the pump makes no sense on a local level.” says Patrick Linger, chair of the Greene County Legislature. “The overly aggressive State and federal policies attempting to end the use of fossil fuels without affordable energy alternatives is at fault here and saving 25 cents on a five-dollar gallon of gas is like putting a band aid on a broken leg.” New York State legislators are giving up their 16 cents per gallon share of the gas tax, but Greene County officials will not. Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Monroe, Putnam, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Ulster, Wayne, and Yates counties are all only collecting tax only on the first $2 charged per gallon of gas and diesel. Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Jefferson, Livingston, Nassau, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Suffolk, and Westchester counties will collect tax only on the first $3 charged per gallon of gas and diesel. Greene County will charge consumers the full amount for gas locally. Read more about this story at Porcupine Soup.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534