WGXC-90.7 FM

Trump impeached; Delgado, Maloney, Tonko vote for, Stefanik votes against

Dec 19, 2019 12:57 am
Democrats in the House of Representatives voted to impeach President Donald Trump Dec. 18, on charges of abuse of power and obstruction of Congress. The vote was 230-to-197 on abuse of power and 229-to-198 on obstruction, with presidential candidate Tulsi Gabbard voting "present." In the Hudson Valley Republican Rep. Elise Stefanik voted against both articles of impeachment, and Democrats Reps. Antonio Delgado, Paul Tonko, and Sean Maloney voted in favor of impeaching the president. New York Senators Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand will now sit on the trial in the U.S. Senate. "Each senator has a Constitutional duty to consider the evidence marshaled by the House to make a fair, dispassionate judgement on whether or not to convict the president," Gillibrand wrote on Twitter. "I'm deeply troubled by what I’ve heard from the House hearings. It appears President Trump put our national security at risk in order to obtain political favors. There also appears to be strong evidence of obstruction of Congress and abuse of power."