WGXC-90.7 FM

Term limits official in Dutchess County

Mar 29, 2019 7:29 am
Patricia R. Doxsey reports in the Daily Freeman that Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro took away some future choices for voters, signing a term limit law that will bar long-term legislators from continuing their experience running the county. “Term limits further empower residents, hold officials accountable and help to reinvigorate democracy," Molinaro said in a press release. "This law will ensure a constant stream of new leaders with fresh ideas, which will only serve to benefit the people of Dutchess County for generations to come.” The law goes into effect in 2020, limiting the executive to three four-year terms in office, with legislators capped at six two-year terms. In 2022, the comptroller is limited to three four-year terms. But the time clocks for current representatives don't begin until 2020. If Molinaro is re-elected this November he will be in the midst of his third term then, but still get several more chances to continue his tenure as county executive. Barbara Jeter-Jackson, a Democrat from Poughkeepsie, Marge Horton, a Republican representing East Fishkill, and James Miccio, a Republican from Fishkill, have all been in the legislature for more than 12 years. Read the full story in the Daily Freeman.