WGXC-90.7 FM

Cuomo declares state of emergency covering Columbia Co.

Aug 06, 2020 6:15 am
Columbia-Greene Media is reporting a state of emergency declaration issued Wed., Aug. 5 in the wake of Tropical Storm Isaias, will cover Columbia County. The state of emergency makes local governments eligible for additional clean-up and operational support. The counties included in the declaration are: Bronx, Dutchess, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester. The declaration also applies to the counties bordering the named 11 counties, as is standard practice; thereby covering Columbia, Ulster and Sullivan counties. “We’re taking an all-hands-on-deck approach and activating every resource at our disposal to expedite communities’ recovery from the impacts of Tropical Storm Isaias,” Cuomo said. “The state is working closely with local governments to help ensure they have the help they need to get back on their feet. We’re far too familiar with severe weather, but New Yorkers show their true spirit in times of crisis and we’ll prove it once more.” As Isaias moved through the eastern portion of the state, it produced numerous downed trees, localized flash flooding and caused a peak of more than 920,000 power outages, including more than 8,000 in Columbia County. Read the full story at HudsonValley360 [dot] com.
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534