WGXC-90.7 FM

Republicans do well in Greene County Legislature election

Nov 08, 2018 12:05 am
One Democrat incumbent, Joseph D. Kozloski, did not win his seat on the Greene County Legislature, and all Republicans running won in the election Nov. 6. In Catskill, Republicans swept the election, with incumbents Michael T. Bulich, Matthew F. Luvera, Linda H. Overbaugh, and newcomer Jack Keller, Sr. taking the most votes, and Democrat incumbent Kozloski and Democrat Christopher M. Hamilton finishing out of the running. In Coxsackie, Charles A. Martinez and Thomas M. Hobart, both Republicans, were unopposed. Replacing Lee Palmateer in Athens, Republican Edward R. Bloomer defeated Democrat Michael N. Pirrone 881-731. In Greenville, Republican Gregory H. Davis ran unopposed to fill the seat of Kevin Lewis. In New Baltimore, Republican Patrick S. Linger kept his seat, beating Democrat James H. Eckl 913-530. Lori J. Torgersen, a Democrat, announced after ballots were printed that she was not running for re-election. Republican James M. Thorington took the seat, with 1,208 votes to 416 for Torgersen. Democrat Larry F. Gardner ran unopposed for his seat representing Halcott, Lexington, and Hunter. He got 1,056 votes, with 94 write-in votes, some of which went to Phoebe Potter, who mounted a last-minute write-in campaign largely because of Gardner's support for a tax increase to pay for construction of a new Greene County jail. In Cairo, Republican William B. Lawrence and Democrat Harry A. Lennon were unopposed, and the most undervotes, or non-votes were here, 1,578. And in Durham, Democrat Aidan O’Connor, Jr. ran for State Assembly instead of the legislature, and Republican Patricia M. Handel took the seat unopposed.