WGXC-90.7 FM

Four local school districts failed to file their reopening plans by July 31

Aug 11, 2020 5:45 am
Elizabeth Doran is reporting for Syracuse [dot] com 107 New York school districts have not filed the required school reopening plans with the State Education Department and the State Health Department, Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo said August 10. The plans outline how a school district plans to reopen and were due July 31. According to the governor's office the Catskill, Windham-Ashland-Jewett, Germantown and Ichabod Crane school districts did not submit their plans on time. If the missing plans are not filed by Fri., Aug. 14, those districts cannot reopen, Cuomo said. School districts must conduct at least three public sessions with parents, and one exclusively for teachers, to talk about the plans and answer questions. The state of New York has 749 school districts. “Despite clear guidance provided to these schools, which included a link to the DOH portal, some districts in follow-up calls said they filed with the State Education Department, which is not an executive agency, but didn’t file with DOH,‘‘ said Rich Azzopardi, senior advisor to the governor. According to messages posted on their websites, that was the case with the Catskill and Ichabod Crane districts. In Catskill's case, the district corrected its mistake by filing the required paperwork with the DOH on Mon., Aug. 10. But Cuomo's school list is also suspect. The River Newsroom reports that one school on the list, “Jeff Youngsville,” which may be a reference to the Jefferson-Youngsville Central School District, merged with the Narrowsburg and Delaware Valley districts in 1999 to create Sullivan West. Read the full story at Syracuse [dot] com.