WGXC-90.7 FM

Republicans, again, win Catskill Village election on absentee ballots

Mar 18, 2022 1:15 pm

Ted Remsnyder at Columbia-Greene Media reports that Republicans Jamie Hyer-Mitchell and Jeffrey Holliday came back with absentee ballots to win seats on the Catskill Village Board. Election night totals had three candidates running on the Democrat and Action Party lines leading for three spots on the village board, while those running on the Republican and Village Visions lines were behind. But after 328 absentee ballots were added on March 17, only one Democrat remained a winner, with incumbent Natasha Law at 500 votes. Hyer-Mitchell won the second seat with 483 votes. Republican Diane Petrianni-March finished third with 461, and Democrat Megan Henry was fourth with 436 votes. In the contest for the other seat, a rematch from last year, Republican Jeffrey Holliday again beat Democrat Michelle Williams, this time 496 to 467. Last year, Williams led with a 55-44 percent margin over Holliday when the unofficial results were announced on election night, virtually the same as in this election. But after counting 265 absentee ballots last year, Holliday won 199 of them, giving the retired New York State Trooper a 451 to 369 win over Williams. So this year both candidates got more votes, and Williams pulled closer. Absentee ballots were also counted in Tannersville March 17, but they did not change the outcome. Republican Kimberly Thompson got one absentee ballot, and Democrat Mary Susan Timpson got the other, with Thompson winning overall 34 to 32 votes for the two-year term on the Tannersville village board. Read more about this story at HudsonValley360.com.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534