WGXC-90.7 FM

School budgets approved in Columbia, Greene counties

May 19, 2021 3:00 pm

Melanie Lekocevic is reporting for Columbia-Greene Media the unofficial results of the May 18 school budget votes and board of education elections are in. In the Hudson School District voters approved a $52.2 million budget by a margin of 352 to 214. Incumbent Lucinda Segar was re-elected to the board with 502 votes, and write-in candidates Selha Graham and Mark DePace were elected with 81 and 80 votes, respectively. Voters in the New Lebanon School District approved that spending plan on a vote of 386 to 141, achieving the supermajority needed for the proposition to pass. Bill Buckenroth and Michael Brutsch were elected to the board of education. In the Taconic Hills School District the $39 million budget was adopted by a vote of 433 to 99. Candidates Bonnie Torchia and William Arp were each elected to five-year terms on the board. Chatham School District voters passed its spending plan by a vote of 460 to 159. Christopher Spencer and Beth Hover were elected to the board. Ichabod Crane district voters approved the $43.9 million budget on a vote of 874 to 402. Jared Widjeskog, Jennifer Allard and Anne Schaefer were elected to the board. In Greene County, the Catskill School District spending plan was approved on a vote of 346 to 245. Jeremy Engelin, Stephanie Oakley-Edwards, Brittany Williams and Jennifer Shanley were elected to the board of education. Cairo-Durham School District voters okayed the district's $33.2 million budget for the 2021-22 school year on a vote of 271 to 121. Incumbents Elizabeth Daly, Christopher O’Connell and Brian Colette were re-elected to the board, along with newcomer Carolyn Miller. The Coxsackie-Athens School District's $34 million budget was adopted on a vote of 536 to 242. Voters chose Barton Wallace, David Taylor and Kyle Garland to serve on the board of education. Voters in the Hunter-Tannersville School District voted 165 to 25 to approve the 2021-22 school budget. Bobbi Schmitt was elected to the board with 170 votes and write-in candidate Carlos Rodriguez was elected with 1 vote. Windham-Ashland-Jewett School District voters approved the 2021-22 spending plan on a vote of 188 to 57. Jean Jaeger was elected to a five-year term on the board of education. Note: Graham and Widkjeskog are active WGXC volunteer on-air programmers. Read the full story at HudsonValley360 [dot] com.

Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534