WGXC-90.7 FM

Village elections today

Mar 19, 2019 6:45 am
Columbia-Greene Media is reporting village elections will be held in Greene and Columbia counties Tue., March 19. Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. While five villages in Greene County and four in Columbia County are holding elections, several of the races are uncontested.
In Athens three people are running for mayor. Republican incumbent Peter Alberti is being challenged by Democrat Trustee Stephan Bradicich and independent candidate Norman Benjamin Jr. Four people are running for two seats on the village board: Republican incumbent Shannon Spinner, Republican Robert Scott and Democrats Joshua Lipsman and Amy Serrago.
In Catskill, four people are seeking two seats on the village board: Village President Vincent Seeley, on the Democratic and Independence party lines, and Trustee Stanley Dushane, on the Republican and Constitution party lines, the incumbents, are being challenged by Democrat and Independence candidate Natasha Law, and Daniel M. Shanley, on the Republican and Constitution party lines. In Chatham, John F. Howe is running unopposed for mayor. Jaimee Boehm, Peter Minahan and Jodie Russell are seeking two-year terms as village trustee; Melony Spock and Joseph Cerami are running for a one-year term as trustee.
Coxsackie incumbent Mayor Mark Evans, a Republican, and incumbent trustees Donald Daoust, a Democrat, and Stephen Hanse, a Republican, are all running unopposed.
In Hunter, Anita Ayres of the Pro party and Guy Chirico of the Livable Village party are running unopposed for two available trustee seats.
In Kinderhook, David Flaherty and Dale R. Reiser, both of the Van Buren party, are running unopposed for two trustee seats.
Philmont has two contested races. Two people are running for mayor: incumbent Clarence V. Speed, of the People’s Party, is being challenged by Robin Andrews of the Citizens Party. Three people are running for two trustee seats. Incumbents Laurence Ostrander, of the Pine Tree Party, and Douglas C. Cropper, of the Village Party, are joined in the race by Heath Iverson, running on the Philmont’s Future Party line.
Tannersvillei incumbent Mayor Lee McGunnigle is running unopposed for a new term. Four people are vying for two trustee seats. Incumbent Democrats Dave Kashman and Gregory Landers, are being challenged by Clifton Thompson and John Palermo Sr., both running on the Right Choice Party line.
Valatie incumbent Mayor Diane Argyle and incumbent trustees Frank Bevens and Larry Eleby are running unopposed.
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534