WGXC-90.7 FM

Ulster legislature votes for term limits

Jul 17, 2019 12:45 am
Patricia R. Doxsey reports at the Daily Freeman that Ulster County voters may have fewer choices at the polls if Ulster County Executive Pat Ryan signs a term limit law passed July 16 by the Ulster County Legislature. The law to set 12-year term limits for the county executive, comptroller, and 23 members of the county Legislature passed by a 16-to-5 vote. State law does not allow the Legislature to impose term limits on the county clerk, sheriff, district attorney, or judges. To become a law, a public hearing must first be held, and Ryan must sign the bill, or the legislature could override his veto. The law would go into effect in 2020. Read more about this story at the Daily Freeman.