WGXC-90.7 FM

Cuomo requests disaster funds for August flash floods

Sep 14, 2018 11:15 am
Columbia County may get disaster relief funds from the federal government for flash flooding in August. On Sept. 13, Governor Andrew Cuomo requested that the federal government grant a Major Disaster Declaration for eight counties impacted by flash flooding during severe storms in August. Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Schuyler, Seneca and Tioga counties were named by the governor. "These storms brought such devastation to the area, local communities were left unsure of how they would recover from such loss and damage," Cuomo said. "As the state continues to assist the New Yorkers impacted by the flooding last month, I am urging the federal government to recognize the severity of this situation and provide the funding and resources these communities so desperately need."