WGXC-90.7 FM

Albany County legislature votes against nepotism law

Jun 16, 2017 12:04 am
Amanda Fries in The Albany Times Union reports that on June 12 the Albany County Legislature voted 25-13 against a bill that would have stopped elected officials’ relatives from being hired to work for the county. The bill also barred former county elected officials from being hired until four years after they left their former job. Here is how legislators in Albany County voted on the measure:

For: Doug Bullock (D-Albany), Paul Burgdorf (R-Latham), Joanne Cunningham (D- Delmar), Charles Dawson (D-Glenmont), Mark Grimm (R-Guilderland), Chris Higgins (D-Albany), Lynne Lekakis (D-Albany), Frank Mauriello (R-Colonie), David Mayo (D-Latham), Alison McLean Lane (D-Menands), Richard Mendick (R-Selkirk), Joseph O’Brien (D-Loudonville), and William Reinhardt (D-Slingerlands).

Against: Robert Beston (D-Watervliet), Norma Chapman (D-Albany), William Clay (D-Albany), Brian Clenahan (D-Albany), Frank Commisso Sr. (D-Albany), Peter Crouse (R-Loudonville), Gary Domalewicz (D-Albany), Todd Drake (R-Latham), Darrell Duncan (D-Voorheesville), Gil Ethier (D-Cohoes), Dennis Feeney (D-Guilderland), Samuel Fein (D-Albany), Brian Hogan (R-Latham), Andrew Joyce (D-Albany), Raymond Joyce (D-Albany), Patrice Lockart (R-Colonie), Paul Miller (D-Albany), Lucille McKnight (D-Albany), Ralph Signoracci (D-Cohoes), Merton Simpson (D-Albany), Christopher Smith (D-East Berne), Travis Stevens (R-Knox), Richard Touchette (D-Coeymans), Peter Tunny (R-Niskayuna), and Sean Ward (D-Green Island). Wanda Willingham (D-Albany) was absent for the votee.