WGXC-90.7 FM

Write-in candidate wins seat on Philmont village board

Sep 21, 2020 2:45 pm
Emilia Teasdale is reporting for The Columbia Paper the votes in the village of Philmont election held Tues., Sep. 15 have now been tabulated. On Election Day, the ballot included the names of the two incumbents village trustees running unopposed for reelection. However, after the ballots were cast, voters had made Debra Gitterman, a write-in candidate, the top vote getter with 50 votes, electing to a two-year term on the village board. Incumbent Brian Johnson was reelected with 55 votes. The second incumbent on the ballot, Barbara Sagal, received 37 votes and write-in candidate Mike Wheeler received 39 votes. According to the village office, a total of 122 ballots were cast as well as 6 absentees. Read the full story in The Columbia Paper.