WGXC-90.7 FM

Legislators want local counties to give film tax break too

Mar 11, 2016 12:02 am
Patricia Doxsey in The Daily Freeman reports that Ulster, Greene, Columbia, Saratoga, Warren, Essex, Rensselaer, and Washington are the only counties in New York that do not give the film industry a tax break under current law, and Sen. George Amedore (R-Rotterdam) is among the legislators trying to change that. The story recalls that in a separate interview, actress and Dutchess County resident Mary Stuart Masterson told the paper that the county’s exclusion from the state credit program was thwarting her efforts to open a studio, tentatively called Stockade Works, in Kingston by spring 2017. Read the full story in The Daily Freeman.