WGXC-90.7 FM

Albany Common Council again tables ban on tear gas

May 18, 2021 5:34 am

The Albany Common Council again May 17 did not vote on whether or not to ban the use of tear gas on its own citizens by the Albany Police Department. It was the second straight Common Council meeting where members avoided taking a vote. Mayor Kathy Sheehan has said she will veto any ban and continue to let chemical fumes waft into open windows in Albany. Last summer, the Albany Police repeatedly used tear gas on protesters. Pete DeMola from the Times Union wrote on Twitter that the Common Council, "tables outright ban on tear gas - but leaves door open on bill severely curtailing its usage."