WGXC-90.7 FM

Tuesday headlines

Sep 20, 2011 2:10 am
Hazardous waste drop-offs
The drop-off locations for household hazardous waste established since Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee wreaked havoc on our area, at will remain open until Saturday, September 24. Residents whose homes have been flooded should be aware of potential chemical hazards that may now exist in their home. Flood waters may have displaced or damaged containers of everyday items such as household cleaners, fertilizers, and pesticides. People can be exposed to dangerous chemicals when cleaning flooded homes and disposing of these flood-damaged household items. Residents may bring household cleaners, paints, automotive fluids, batteries, lawn care products, propane tanks, alcohol based beauty products, mercury containing items, CFL and fluorescent light bulbs, along with other items containing hazardous chemicals to the following locations:
Catskill: Transfer station on Rt. 385
Days and hours of operation: M, Tu, Th, F, Sat: 7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Hunter: Transfer station at 68 Hylan Rd.
Days and hours of operation: M, Tu, Th, F, Sat: 7:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Sun: 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Windham: Transfer station at 100 Rt. 21
Days and hours of operation: M, Tu, Th, F, Sat: 7:30AM – 3:30PM
Sun: 8 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Household hazardous waste is also being accepted at the Prattsville Sewer Treatment Plant located at 102 Rt. 7. The Prattsville location will remain open 7 days a week, from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. until further notice.

Unions endorse local Democrats
The Hudson Valley Area Labor Federation and the Upper Hudson Central Labor Council Columbia Chapter announced endorsements for Columbia County elections Monday, Sept. 19 inside the SEIU 1199 offices in Hudson, NY. Endorsements include local Democrats:
Copake Town Council: Susan Winchell-Sweeney
Copake - Town Clerk/Tax Collector: Rachel Collins Kelly
County Court Judge: Richard Koweek
County District Attorney: Eugene Keeler
County Treasurer: Peter Stoll
Hudson - Alderman - First Ward: Larissa Thomas, Dave Marston
Hudson - Common Council President: Donald A. Moore
Hudson - First Ward - Supervisor: Sarah Hoe Sterling
Hudson - Fourth Ward - Supervisor: William Hughes
Hudson - Mayor City: Nicholas Haddad
Hudson - Third Ward - Supervisor: Ellen Thurston
New Lebanon Supervisor, County Supervisor: Margaret Robertson
New Lebanon Town Justice: Darcy Poppey
Stockport - Town Council: Carl L. Roby
Stuyvesant Town Supervisor: Lee Jamison

Columbia County Democrats elect new officers
The Columbia County Democratic Committee elected officers at its re-organizational meeting, Thu. Sept. 15. Cyndy Hall of Claverack was elected Chair, Victor Mendolia of Hudson (a WGXC programmer) was elected 1st Vice Chair, Peter Bujanow of Kinderhhook was elected 2nd Vice-Chair. Carol Sacks was elected Treasurer, Kay Abraham of Germantown was elected Secretary of the Committee. Keith St. John of Kinderhook was appointed by the Executive Committee as Parlimentarian of the Columbia County Democratic Committee. Columbia County Democrats meet October 20 at SPACE 360 on Warren St., in Hudson at 7 p.m.
[caption id="attachment_14131" align="alignleft" width="400" caption="From Columbia County Democrtas, pictured (l-r) Outgoing Chair, Chris Nolan; Newly elected Chair, Cyndy Hall; Peter Bujanow, 2nd Vice-Chair, Keith St. John, Parlimentarian; Kaye Abraham, Secretary; Carol Sack, Treasurer. Not Pictured; Victor Mendolia."][/caption]
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509 feedback@wgxc.org
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534