The Radio Conference 2009: A Transnational Forum

Dec 11, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: York University, Toronto, Canada,
Dates: July 27-30th, 2009

This conference – the fifth transnational forum – aims to continue the
work of Sussex 2001, Madison, Wisconsin 2003 Melbourne 2005 and
Lincoln 2007 to bring together scholars, practitioners, and students
of radio to share ideas and perspectives on radio's cultural role in
an increasingly global media context. We welcome proposals and abstracts for papers, panels, and symposia on all aspects of radio – historical, cultural, critical, and
institutional – including investigations of the changing form and content of radio and its associated audio media. Preference will be given to papers and panels which report on current empirical research, introduce innovations in learning and teaching strategies, or engagement with key areas of theory or debate in radio studies. You may submit proposals for individual papers, pre-constituted panels, or symposia. Papers should be in English primarily. Should there be sufficient interest, French and/or bilingual panels may be formed. See our website at for information and instructions on how to submit your proposal.

Submission deadlines

Abstracts deadline is Friday 30th January 2009 and decisions will
be20communicated before Tuesday 30 March 2009. If you have a
particular need for an earlier decision please explain why in your
submission. Please send a 250 to 300 word abstract, brief author's
biography and contact information to Anne MacLennan at
radio09@yorku. ca (radio zero nine at The conference is jointly sponsored by the York University, Toronto and the Radio Studies Network. The proposals will be peer reviewed by a panel of international scholars including:

Gail Philips, Murdoch University, Australia
Per Jauert, University of Aarhus, Denmark
Ken Garner, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK
David Hendy, University of Westminster, UK
Paul Moore, University of Ulster, UK
Michael Keith, Boston College, USA
Peter Lewis, London Metropolitan University, UK
Anne Dunn, University of Sydney, Australia
David Goodman, University of Melbourne, Australia
Hugh Chignell, Bournemouth University, UK
Eric Rothenbuhler, Texas A&M University, USA
Kate Lacey, University of Sussex, UK
Russell Johnston, Brock University, Canada
Jeff Webb, Memorial University, Canada
Len Kuffert, University of Manitoba, Canada

Organizing Committe
Anne MacLennan (York University, Canada; Joint chair)
Tim Wall (Birmingham City University, UK; Joint chair)
Michele Hilmes (University of Wisconsin - Madison, USA)
John Tebbutt (Latrobe University, Melbourne, Australia)

Please contact to submit abstracts and for further
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Contact Info
Mailing: PO Box 13 Acra, NY 12405
Main Office / Acra Studio
(518) 622-2598
WGXC Office
(518) 697-7400
WGXC Hudson Studio
(518) 828-0290
WGXC Feedback
(518) 212-7509
Wave Farm / WGXC Acra Studio: 5662 Route 23 Acra, NY 12405
WGXC Hudson Studio: 369 Warren St. Hudson, NY 12534